A

Current Exhibitions

Saturday, December 21, 2013 to Sunday, December 7, 2014

Showcases the development and primacy of Netherlandish manuscript painting during the later Middle Ages with works from the permanent collection

Tuesday, June 3, 2014 to Sunday, September 14, 2014

For the first time, the Cleveland Museum of Art will conserve one of its treasures in front of museum visitors. The Crucifixion of Saint Andrew by Michelangelo Merisi da Caravaggio was painted in 1606–7 and is among the most important paintings in the museum’s collection. Audiences will be able to witness firsthand the skill, planning, research, and technical analysis that go in to a major conservation project.

Sunday, June 22, 2014 to Sunday, September 7, 2014

Yoga: The Art of Transformation, the world’s first exhibition about yoga’s visual history, explores yoga’s meanings and transformations over time, including its entry into the global arena, its goal of spiritual enlightenment, its claim for health and well-being, and the beauty and profundity of related Indian art.

Sunday, June 22, 2014 to Sunday, September 28, 2014

Unequaled in his artistic and technical execution of woodcuts and engravings, 16th-century German artist Albrecht Dürer (1471–1528) revolutionized the art of printmaking. The exhibition Dürer’s Women: Images of Devotion & Desire features over fifty of his impressions from the Cleveland Museum of Art’s distinguished collection of Dürer’s prints and considers the artist’s multivalent depictions of women over the course of his career.

Sunday, July 13, 2014 to Sunday, June 28, 2015

An exhibition of 15 botanically inspired luxury textiles drawn from CMA’s exemplary collection.

Sunday, July 20, 2014 to Sunday, November 30, 2014

This exhibition focuses on relationships among the photographic work of three artists active during the 1970s that drew on ideas of surrealist/Dada culture of the 1920s and 1930s and influenced succeeding generations of photographers and media artists. Each embraced photography as one element of an artistic practice guided as much by literature, philosophy, and an attention to popular culture as by classical formal concerns of the medium. Yet, photographic process and context remained important to them.

Tuesday, July 22, 2014 to Sunday, September 21, 2014

A selection of Signer’s early Super 8 films and some of his more recent videos that document his spectacular, yet stunningly simple actions and performances will be on view in the Video Project Room.