A

Upcoming Exhibitions

Saturday, September 10, 2016 to Saturday, December 31, 2016
Centennial Exhibition

The Cleveland Museum of Art is pleased to present The Ecstasy of St. Kara: Kara Walker, New Work, debuting  her latest series of large-scale works on paper.

Saturday, September 24, 2016

Throughout history, precious works of art have been used in worship. Radiant textiles, cherished symbols of wealth and power in the Catholic Church, embellished the high altar and clothed the clergy. Quality was expensive.

Sunday, October 9, 2016 to Sunday, February 26, 2017
Centennial Exhibition

The most complete surviving example of a Gothic table fountain is preserved in the Cleveland Museum of Art. This medieval automaton is datable to about 1320–40 and was likely produced in Paris for a person of high status, perhaps a member of the royal court.

Saturday, October 22, 2016 to Sunday, February 5, 2017

Cheating Death presents more than 50 portraits from the medium’s first 50 years, almost all drawn from the museum’s extraordinarily rich holdings of 19th-century photography.

Saturday, November 19, 2016 to Sunday, March 19, 2017

Pure Color: Pastels from the Cleveland Museum of Art celebrates pastels made from the second half of the 19th through the early 20th century, a remarkably creative period of richness, diversity, and experimentation in the use of the medium.

Sunday, December 4, 2016 to Sunday, March 12, 2017
Centennial Exhibition

The largest exhibition of Alberts Oehlen’s work in the United States to date, Albert Oehlen: Woods near Oehle illustrates the depth and complexity of an artist who has been at the forefront of artistic innovation since the late 1970s.