A

Adult Lectures

E.g., 2017-06-29
E.g., 2017-06-29
Tuesday, August 29, 2017 - 12:00pm
  • Tue., June 20, 2017, 12:00 pm
  • Tue., June 27, 2017, 12:00 pm
  • Tue., July 11, 2017, 12:00 pm
  • Tue., July 18, 2017, 12:00 pm
  • Tue., July 25, 2017, 12:00 pm
  • Tue., August 1, 2017, 12:00 pm
  • Tue., August 8, 2017, 12:00 pm
  • Tue., August 15, 2017, 12:00 pm
  • Tue., August 22, 2017, 12:00 pm
  • Tue., August 29, 2017, 12:00 pm

Join curator Sinéad Vilbar for a discussion of work from Reeds and Geese: Japanese Art from the Collection of George Gund III. Meet in the exhibition

Sunday, September 24, 2017 - 2:00pm to 3:00pm
1975s
  • Sun., September 24, 2017, 2:00 pm

Athenian (Attic) vase-painting is the largest body of pictorial imagery to have survived from ancient Greece. Depictions of mythology, religious cult, and daily life offer a window on Athenian society, but their selective and often ambiguous character leave many questions unanswered. One of the principal means by which scholars have studied Attic vases has been through close analysis of their style, allowing for the attribution of individual works to the hands of specific, usually anonymous painters.

Saturday, November 4, 2017 - 2:30pm
  • Sat., November 4, 2017, 2:30 pm

Robert L. Brown, Professor of Indian and Southeast Asian Art, UCLA, presents a lecture that focuses on the most popular and important bodhisattva named Avalokiteshvara.

Pages