A

Today at the Museum
Friday, April 24, 2015

10:00 am

Young children and their favorite grown-up are introduced to the museum, art, and verbal and visual literacy. This creative program combines art making, storytelling, movement, and play.

10:00 am

Charcoal drawing on the first day leads to underpainting, wet-into-wet blending, and glazing. Geared to all levels.

11:15 am

Young children and their favorite grown-up are introduced to the museum, art, and verbal and visual literacy. This creative program combines art making, storytelling, movement, and play.

1:00 pm
Atrium

Public tours are offered daily at 1:00 p.m. Tuesday through Sunday. Tours depart from the Information Desk in the Atrium. Additional tours Saturday and Sunday at 2:00 p.m.

6:00 pm
Add to Calendar

Charcoal drawing on the first day leads to underpainting, wet-into-wet blending, and glazing. Geared to all levels.

Friday, April 24, 2015, 7:00 pm to 8:35 pm

Winner of the top prize at FESPACO 1995, this colorful comedy-drama chronicles the downfall of a cruel, lustful, and despotic leader.

Sunday, December 14, 2014 to Sunday, April 26, 2015

This exhibition, comprised primarily of work from the museum’s collection, examines some of the ways photography has been used to construct identities, whether fact or fiction.

Sunday, July 13, 2014 to Sunday, May 3, 2015

An exhibition of 15 botanically inspired luxury textiles drawn from CMA’s exemplary collection.

Sunday, March 22, 2015 to Sunday, July 26, 2015

This exhibition will demonstrate how contemporary artists utilize printmaking techniques to express their ideas.

Tuesday, March 10, 2015 to Sunday, June 7, 2015

"Music/Video" explores the various ways in which artists have used music to change or enhance the various meanings of video art.

Sunday, February 22, 2015 to Sunday, May 31, 2015

Fine and distinctive forms of sculpture eventually classified as Senufo attracted the attention of art dealers, collectors, and artists in Europe and North America early in the 20th century, a time when people on both continents began evaluating objects from Africa as “art” rather than ethnographic artifacts.

Sunday, February 15, 2015 to Sunday, June 14, 2015

Several 16th- and 17th-century prints and drawings of occult imagery will provide visual context for Rosa’s images while underscoring his originality regarding the traditional iconography of witches and magicians found in prints circulating throughout Europe at the time.

Sunday, January 25, 2015 to Sunday, May 17, 2015

A selection of about 60 drawings and prints from the museum's permanent collection will explore the various ways in which music and music-making have been represented in Europe and the United States from the 15th through the 20th century.