Mar 3, 2009
Apr 7, 2004
Mar 3, 2009
Mar 3, 2009
Mar 3, 2009
Mar 4, 2009

The Bodhisattvas of the Ten Stages in Attaining the Most Perfect Knowledge

The Bodhisattvas of the Ten Stages in Attaining the Most Perfect Knowledge



Part of a set. See all set records

China, Ming dynasty


Hanging scroll; ink and color on silk

Painting: 140.8 x 79.3 cm (55 7/16 x 31 1/4 in.); Overall with knobs: 227.8 x 120 cm (89 11/16 x 47 1/4 in.)

John L. Severance Fund 1973.70.1



This painting represents bodhisattvas of the ten stages of enlightenment undergoing the final processes toward Buddhahood. This and the scroll nearby form part of a set of scrolls that were used to perform the Water-Land (shuilu) ritual. The sinuous curves of scarf and drapery, the layering of garments, and the minute detail all reflect the opulent visual atmosphere that surrounded the Ming worshipper in temples and spirit halls throughout the country.

In the upper right corner of each painting is an imperial seal and an inscription in gold reading: Donated on the third day of the eighth month in the fifth year of the Jingtai reign (1454) of the Great Ming. Written in ink in the lower left corner is the record that they were made on imperial order, probably to present them to the Da Longfu monastery in Beijing.

See also
Chinese Art
Type of artwork: 

Contact us

The information about this object, including provenance, may not be currently accurate. If you notice a mistake or have additional information about this object, please email

To request more information about this object, study images, or bibliography, contact the Ingalls Library Reference Desk.

All images and data available through Open Access can be downloaded for free. For images not available through Open Access, a detail image, or any image with a color bar, request a digital file from Image Services.