Tags for: Chamber Music in the Galleries
  • Performance

Chamber Music in the Galleries

Wednesday, May 2, 2018, 6:00–7:00 p.m.
Location: Galleries

About The Event

The series of monthly chamber music concerts continues, featuring young artists from the Cleveland Institute of Music and the joint program with Case Western Reserve University’s early and baroque music programs. Outstanding conservatory musicians present mixed repertoire ranging from the standard to unknown gems amid the museum’s collections for a unique and intimate experience—and they often feature instruments from the museum’s keyboard collection. These early-evening, hour-long performances are a delightful after-work encounter or the start of a night out.

Free, no ticket required.

The CWRU Baroque Orchestra and Chamber Ensembles present a program “Earwitness Views from Traveling Musicians in conjunction with our current special exhibition Eyewitness Views: Making History in Eighteenth-Century Europe.


CWRU Baroque Orchestra and Chamber Ensembles
Julie Andrijeski, Director

“Earwitness” Views from Traveling Musicians

Michel Pignolet Montéclair (1667–1737)
Cantata, Pirame et Thisbé (excerpts)

Performed by Sarah Coffman, soprano; Nathan Dougherty, tenor; Daniel Fridley, bass; Alice Culin-Ellison, violin; Sophie Benn, cello; Peter Bennett, harpsichord

*     *     *     *     *

François Couperin (1668–1733)
“La Piémontoise” dances from Les Nations
Courantes I and II

Performed by Alan Choo and Guillermo Salas Suárez, violin; Eva Lymenstull, cello; Michael Quinn, harpsichord

*     *     *     *     *

Baldassare Galuppi (1706–1785)
Concerto a quattro no. 1 in G Minor
Grave e Adagio

Performed by Beatrice Hsieh and Charles Gleason, violin; Maia Hoffman, viola; Daniel Blumhard, cello

*     *     *     *     *

Angelo Ragazzi (1680?–1750)
Sonate a quattro, op. 1, no. 1 in G Major

Performed by Alice Culin-Ellison, Alan Choo, and Guillermo Salas Suárez, violin; Eva Lymenstull, cello; Michael Quinn, harpsichord; and the CWRU Baroque Orchestra

*     *     *     *     *

Charles Avison (1709–1770)
Concerto no. 3 in D Minor
Largo andante
Allegro spiritoso
Piu allegro

Performed by the CWRU Baroque Orchestra

These programs made possible in part by the Ernest L. and Louise M. Gartner Fund, the P. J. McMyler Musical Endowment Fund, and the Anton and Rose Zverina Music Fund.

Series Sponsors