Skip to Main Content
Tags for: John Luther Adams – Veils and Vesper
  • Performance

Photo by David Brichford

John Luther Adams – Veils and Vesper

Saturday, September 20, 2014, Friday, September 26, 2014, Saturday, September 27, 2014, Friday, October 3, 2014, Saturday, October 4, 2014, Friday, October 10, 2014, Saturday, October 11, 2014, Friday, October 17, 2014, Saturday, October 18, 2014, Sunday, October 19, 2014, Friday, October 24, 2014, Saturday, October 25, 2014, Friday, October 31, 2014, Saturday, November 1, 2014, Friday, November 7, 2014, and Saturday, November 8, 2014
Location: St. John's Episcopal Church, Ohio City

About The Event

The music and life of Alaska composer John Luther Adams have always been deeply rooted in the natural world. A recipient of the Heinz Award for his contributions to raising environmental awareness, Adams has also been honored with the Nemmers Prize from Northwestern University “for melding the physical and musical worlds into a unique artistic vision that transcends stylistic boundaries.” Adams composes for orchestra, chamber ensembles, percussion and electronic media, and his music is heard regularly all over the world from concert halls to site-specific installations. Called “one of the most original musical thinkers of the new century” (Alex Ross, The New Yorker), Adams won the Pulitzer Prize for Music this year.

This fall, Adams brings two of his major works to Cleveland—Inuksuit, a site-specific daylong performance, and Veils and Vesper, an ongoing immersive sound installation.


Veils and Vesper

Veils and Vesper, distinct but related electronic pieces written in 2005, are extraordinarily beautiful works meant to be heard successively or concurrently. When installed together, the listener is able to create her own “mix” by moving through the space. This allows her to bask in the harmonic colors of each individual piece, or to take in the more oceanic whole. These soundscapes are slow to unfold and of great duration—six hours in all—creating an immersive environment that the listener can enjoy at whatever length. In collaboration with the Episcopal Diocese of Ohio, the recently restored St. John’s Church becomes a place of contemplation and meditation. For several weeks, Adams’ installation will be a sounding environment and oasis in the middle of the city, or what Kyle Gann in PostClassic called “Calming, beautiful, ... an invitation to a crepuscular frame of mind.”

Visiting Hours
Opening Reception Saturday, September 20, 2014 at 7:00 p.m.
Fridays and Saturdays (beginning September 26), 12:00–6:00 p.m.
Sunday, October 19, 2014, 12:00–6:00 p.m.

FREE


 


 

You May Also Like:

Image

Image

Image

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

These programs made possible in part by the Ernest L. and Louise M. Gartner Fund, the P. J. McMyler Musical Endowment Fund, and the Anton and Rose Zverina Music Fund.

Series Sponsor
The Musart Society