Tags for: No Exit: Year of Surreality
  • Performance
  • Tickets Required
No Exit Publicity Image

Photo © No Exit New Music Ensemble

No Exit: Year of Surreality

Friday, February 9, 2024, 7:30–9:00 p.m.
Location:  Gartner Auditorium
Free; ticket required

About The Event

The Cleveland Museum of Art presents a concert focusing on Surrealism featuring the group No Exit New Music Ensemble. 

Since its inception, the idea behind No Exit has been to serve as an outlet for the commission and performance of contemporary avant-garde concert music. Now in its 15th season and with well over 300 commissions to date, the ensemble strives to create exciting, meaningful, and thought-provoking 
programs—always with the philosophy of bringing the concert hall to the community and by presenting programs in a manner that allows audiences to connect with the experience. 

As part of No Exit’s season-long multifaceted exploration and celebration of Surrealism, the group is making its CMA debut with a captivating and utterly entertaining deep dive into the realm of dreams, the irrational, the unconscious, and the inexplicable. This genre-defying multidisciplinary program includes music, film, and more. 

No ticket or reservation is required to attend the performance in Gartner Auditorium. 

More information about No Exit can be found on the ensemble’s website. 


Introduction (video) by Timothy Beyer

Dadaist Anthem (video) by Tristan Tzara

La Nourrice Américaine (fast) by Francis Picabia, piano

Caramel Mou by Darius Milhaud, piano

Adieu, New York! by Georges Auric, piano

La Nourrice Américaine (slow) by Francis Picabia, piano

Drie Composities Voor Klavier by E.L.T. Mesens, piano

Backwards Addict by James Praznik, ensemble

Dinactic Perplaxity Ritual by Timothy Beyer, ensemble




The Birdhouse (video) by Timothy Beyer

Breathing Room (video) by Luke Haaksma, ensemble

In Fourteen Steps (video) by James Praznik, ensemble

Cara Tweed, violin; James Rhodes, viola; Nicholas Diodore, cello; Gunnar Owen Hirthe, clarinet; Sean Gabriel, flute; James Praznik, piano and associate director; Rob Kovacs, piano; Shuai Wang, piano; Luke Rinderknecht, percussion; Edwin Wade, art director; Timothy Beyer, director 


The 2023–24 Performing Arts Series is sponsored by the Musart Society. This program is made possible in part by the Ernest L. and Louise M. Gartner Fund, the P. J. McMyler Musical Endowment Fund, and the Anton and Rose Zverina Music Fund.

    The Cleveland Museum of Art is funded in part by residents of Cuyahoga County through a public grant from Cuyahoga Arts & Culture.

    Performing arts programs are supported in part by the Ohio Arts Council, which receives support from the State of Ohio and the National Endowment for the Arts.