Tags for: Ohio Philharmonic Orchestra: Grieg Piano Concerto
  • Performance

Ohio Philharmonic Orchestra: Grieg Piano Concerto

Friday, May 4, 2012, 7:30–9:15 p.m. and Saturday, May 5, 2012, 2:00–4:15 p.m.
Location: Gartner Auditorium

About The Event

The Consulate of Italy is pleased to present the Ohio Philharmonic Orchestra under the direction of Maestro Domenico Boyagian and Antonio Pompa-Baldi at the piano, performing the Grieg Piano Concerto in A minor. Co-sponsored by the Cleveland Museum of Art.

Antonio Pompa-Baldi

Born and raised in Foggia, Italy, Antonio Pompa-Baldi first came to the U.S. in 1999 to participate in the Cleveland International Piano Competition. He won the First Prize, and, while fulfilling all the engagements that came with it, he and his wife, Italian pianist Emanuela Friscioni, decided to make Cleveland their home.

Antonio Pompa-Baldi is a Steinway Artist. He serves as Distinguished Professor of Piano at the Cleveland Institute of Music, and gives master-classes around the world, both in conjunction with his performing engagements, and at summer festivals including Piano Fest in the Hamptons, TCU-Cliburn Institute, Southeastern Piano Festival (University of South Carolina School of Music), Paisiello Academy (Lucera, Italy), and Napolinova Academy (Naples, Italy).

Domenico Boyagian

Mr. Domenico Boyagian was born and raised in Bologna, Italy. He began his music studies at the age of 6. He is quickly proving himself to be equally comfortable with both the orchestral and operatic repertory. Mr. Boyagian is also Assistant Conductor for Opera Southwest in Albuquerque, New Mexico.

The Ohio Philharmonic received rave reviews under his baton. Concerts received important media coverage and were reviewed by a few of Cleveland's most prestigious printed and online newspapers, magazines and blogging websites, including the Plain Dealer and ClevelandClassical.com, among others. Future engagements include concerts in the U.S. and in Europe. William Laufer is the Executive Director of the Ohio Philharmonic Orchestra.

$36, $30; Museum members $35, $29 (use promotional code CMA to receive member discount). Advance tickets available through the Ohio Philharmonic Orchestra online at eventbrite.com or by phone at 216-229-4444.

Grieg - Holberg Suite
Ravel - Le Tombeau de Couperin
Grieg - Piano Concerto in A minor

Official site