Nine Celestial Bodies (Navagraha)

Overall: 44.4 x 158.6 x 18.2 cm (17 1/2 x 62 7/16 x 7 3/16 in.)
You can copy, modify, and distribute this work, all without asking permission. Learn more about CMA's Open Access Initiative.

Download, Print and Share

Did You Know?

The Sun (Surya) is the only figure who wears boots and holds fully open lotus flowers.


Near temple entrances, the nine celestial bodies were depicted in an orderly row, often in figural form. From left to right they are: Sun with a tall crown and the female Dawn in front of him. The next five figures are nearly identical: Moon, Mercury, Venus, Mars, and Jupiter. As a portent of doom, Saturn was wounded by a goddess to prevent him from moving swiftly, so he stands on one leg. The bodiless head is Rahu, the eclipse, who swallows the moon until it falls out his neck. The serpent-tailed figure is a comet.
Nine Celestial Bodies (Navagraha)

Nine Celestial Bodies (Navagraha)


Central India

Visually Similar Artworks

Contact us

The information about this object, including provenance, may not be currently accurate. If you notice a mistake or have additional information about this object, please email

To request more information about this object, study images, or bibliography, contact the Ingalls Library Reference Desk.

All images and data available through Open Access can be downloaded for free. For images not available through Open Access, a detail image, or any image with a color bar, request a digital file from Image Services.